Ahhh that elusive creativity…

So, perhaps you’ve been building a series of works. Perhaps you are starting out and unsure what to start with and where to begin. after a flurry of about 3 months painting, exploring techniques to use with oils (glazing, brushes, palette knife, textures, colour blends), I am stuck.

I actually sat down at the canvas and…hmmm…nothing. Well, not exactly nothing. I could have painted something I am sure, but that normal directional pull I feel whether due to colours, subject matter, tools, or music just wasn’t cutting it. It was as if there was some kind of cardboard ceiling I couldn’t quite see through, a sort of sluggish dissatisfied feeling that came up every time I thought “Ok, well let’s do this”. Nope. Nothing. Nada.

So I did what anyone would do. I tried something. Yuck (technical term don’t you know). Stopped and gave myself a break. So where do I go from here? Hmmm… Well, new songs, old songs not working, so I guess we are back to inspirational photography. Checking out beautiful scenes until something hits me in the inspirational gullet. I was watching a program on Istanbul last night and some of the architectural features struck as being possibly very cool to paint-if I could capture the essence of the arches in my style without overly dwelling on the fact that realism is not my forte by any stretch of the imagination.

Sigh.

Anyone else dealt with this same stage of the process?

Leave a Reply

