Inspiration

So the art show, while amazing, left me wondering what to do next. From a marketing, business standpoint (something which while I understand is counterintuitive to what I do and the process I follow), I realize that perhaps I should be working on some smaller pieces. While many people admire the larger ones, each piece is waiting for that certain person who just “has to have THAT one” for a specific place in their home. I know from conversations with patrons, that they would have been interested in smaller versions of my pieces, whether that be a 12 by 12 of lilies, or 8 by 10 abstract. So…do I translate my work in more palatable/saleable sizes? Perhaps. That may be some of my next steps to think about-after all, Christmas is coming and oil takes a while to cure.

That said, I was really inspired this weekend at the Elora Art in the Yard show. Each artist was phenomenal in their own style and medium. There were artists who worked scenes into glass, many people making gorgeous handcrafted jewelry, fabulous painters using different techniques and materials, but the ones I found most interesting, being so different from my process were encaustic artists. I actually got to watch an artist who was doing encaustic demonstrations. Encaustic, for those unfamiliar with it is the process of painting with coloured wax. This artist melted the wax, added various colours and then proceeded to “paint” with it, adding layer after layer….ok, so it was much more complicated and involved, but that was the general idea. Another artist, Supria’s Designs, had these rich, gorgeous colours with all types of different other materials added to the layers, so that you could see bits of maps, words, and items of interest that completed the overall concept.

Inspiration struck and I was reminded of when I made photo albums and personal story books by hand using beautiful paper and bindings, many times decorating the covers with bits of flowers and real stones. So, while I am not going to try encaustic (mostly due to the dangers of having molten wax around young curious, wanting to try everything children), I am going to try multi-media for fun. When I was kayaking around the lakes of northern Ontario, I was always fascinated by pieces of driftwood and the colours of small stones and pebbles reflecting in the shallow waters. Hence, I somehow ended up with a full tackle box full of stones tucked away in the basement (even though I was called many interesting things as a result of lugging the thing from house to house when I moved)… I must have instinctively knew that they would have a new purpose…and so it goes. Now all I have to do is figure out what to attach them to (I am thinking of wood panels), what kind of paint to use for the background (not sure if I can use oil either before or after I attach stones) and whatever else I might want to put there…

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

