Mixed thoughts…

Well, I did give the mixed media thing a try. Ok, so was more acrylic with different mediums and rocks. Some of it I really enjoyed, other parts of the process not so much.

I had a really cool sketch that I had done while sitting at the Elora Art in Yard Show. A “very complicated doodle” which once seen the EMS there remarked that I “should be selling the doodles” lol. Rather than doing the lily style bottom half of the piece, I used acrylic paints with gel medium, adding little rocks/pebbles that I had collected on my kayaking journeys. Originally, I was going to use the rocks in just the gel medium to created a “landscape” across the bottom, but as it always is with me, start in one direction with one thought and as the creative process develops, something totally different comes into play. Then, I just had to try this gritty, rocky forming paste medium which of course I added some gold to (just because once again if I’m going in new direction, might as well make it TOTALLY different-ugh). Drew the sketch of “loon creature’ on the top with mica enhanced paint and voila.

So…I liked the fact that the gel reminded me of oil paints that I could use knives with-add the iridescent paint and I also got the sheen of oil. The rocky texture was cool. The rocks/pebbles themselves bugged me as their very unadorned surface contrasted just a tad too much with the rest, so rather than having this “river rock” “lake rocks” effect, it almost appears as if it’s a jewelled underwater scene. I like how the loony thing turned out, however it appears much stronger when it was only black on white paper, and I’m disappointed with its rather flat feel. Not sure if I should leave it for contrast or if I will “colour it in” so to speak….

The one thing I did miss, is that freedom I feel when using oils and canvases. Even when I am working on more detailed works such as the lilies, there is a greater sense of movement…now whether that is due to the fact that the works are so much larger we will see when I start work on a series of smaller pieces done in oil. Kudos to all you mixed media artists out there! There are so many things to play and work with, I don’t know how you decided where to start creatively!

 

Leave a Reply

